About this question
Are the emails from "account-security-noreply@accountprotection.microsoft.com" fake, or are they legitimate? I have been getting emails from "account-security-noreply@accountprotection.microsoft.com" about unusual activity. The internet has very conflicting information about if these emails are legitimate or not. Microsoft's own website says this is their legitimate sender address for account activity alerts. A legitimate email message should originate from the Microsoft account team at account-security-noreply@accountprotection.microsoft.com.
But here, the Georgia College help desk lists this exact email, from that exact sender address, as a phishing attempt - Many people at GC are receiving one of the more popular phishing scam emails. It appears to be from Microsoft, a “Security Alert'' wanting you to revalidate your account. Know that this is not from Microsoft. It’s a very elaborate phish. Do not click on any link in this email. Please delete it. If you did click on the email, please reset your Unifi password (and subsequent email password) at password.gcsu.edu. From: Microsoft account team account-security-noreply@accountprotection.microsoft.com Sent: Monday, April 3, 2017 3:36 AM Subject: Microsoft account security alert.